October 13, 2015

Cardinals Fun Facts - Minor League Operations

  • The Cardinals opened the $28 Million Roger Dean Stadium and Sports Complex in Jupiter, Florida in 1998. Upon purchasing the Charlotte Rangers in 2002, the Cardinals relocated the team to Jupiter and renamed them the Palm Beach Cardinals. In 2005, they won the Florida State League Championship in only their 3rd season.
  • Since 2005, the Cardinals have owned and operated the AA Texas League Springfield Cardinals franchise that plays at Hammons Field in Springfield Missouri.
  • In March 2014, the St. Louis Cardinals purchased the Memphis Redbirds, their Triple-A affiliate, and the city of Memphis acquired AutoZone Park. The city is leasing the ballpark to the Redbirds via a long-term lease. During the offseason, AutoZone Park underwent a multi-million dollar renovation which included the installation of a state-of-the-art LED Videoboard in left field, LED ribbon board displays, thirty-seven "4-Tops Tables", a right field destination BBQ Shack food area, a new left field bar, additional berm seating, an expanded and upgraded club level, AutoZone Park's first all-inclusive club in right field, and an expensive playing field replacement.
  • In 2014, the Cardinals Minor League affiliate, the State College Spikes (SSA), won their division and the Johnson City Cardinals (Rookie) were the Wild Card winners.
    Since 2000, the Cardinals have won a championship at each of the following minor league levels: Memphis (2000, 2009), Springfield (2012), Palm Beach (2005), Quad Cities (2011), Batavia (2008), Tennessee Smokies (2004), State College (2014) and Johnson City (2010, 2011, 2014).